Close
WATERFRONT HOME WITH PONTOON BOAT WATERFRONT HOME WITH PONTOON BOAT
Lake Placid, NY 12946

LISTING ID: VR5026
REVIEWS*
Date of Stay: August 2016
Posted On: 10/29/16 by Bill M.
This was our third family vacation spent at Camp Cook. A great camp for the grandkids. Camp Cook is clean, neat and well equipped. New fire pit and shelter are a real plus. The pontoon boat gets a lot of use between trips into town and evening cruises around the lake. Hope we can return again in the future.
Date of Stay: August 2015
Posted On: 8/20/15 by Bill M.
Our second trip to Camp Cook. A very nice, well-equipped, up-to-date, clean and comfortable camp. The grandkids loved the kayaks. The pontoon boat is a real plus. Nice 15 minute ride into the marina and town. Has a great fire pit but the rental contract doesn't allow its use! Neighboring camps are close but not at all intrusive.
Owner's Response
We are adding a new lean-to with a fire pit this summer and will be updating the contract (the old fire pit was too close to the house for our insurance company to allow its use by renters). We'll also have a wood shed full of wood.
Date of Stay: August 2015
Posted On: 8/18/15 by Mariann C.
Our family vacation at this camp included 11 people. We had a fantastic week.The pontoon boat was great, large enough to accommodate our group.The camp is beautifully set up,& more spacious than it appears in the pictures.The setting is ideal. The swim trampoline was a blast & we enjoyed using the kayaks. This was our first time on Lake Placid & first experience with a boat access only camp. The owner is very responsive and was a pleasure to work with. This rental is a gem !
Date of Stay: August 2014
Posted On: 9/17/14 by Steve S.
Nice cottage, beautiful view of Lake Placid and Whiteface. Nice quuiet, serene, private setting.
Date of Stay: August 2014
Posted On: 8/25/14 by Ray A.
What a great vacation deal. A wonderful Camp fully stocked with toys and everything you need for 6 people to cook and sleep in comfort. Amazing location away from the hustle & bustle yet so close to outstanding recreation AND dining.
Date of Stay: July 2013
Posted On: 8/7/14 by Bill M.
Wonderful camp for a large family or several couples. Great view and a short, gentle walk from the camp to the dock. Quite secluded but easy access to Lake Placid Village using the pontoon boa t. A very nice pontoon boat big enough for the whole crowd.. Hope to return in future years. Only negative is the extra fee required for guests in excess of six since the camp sleeps 11.
Owner's Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Date of Stay: August 2012
Posted On: 8/22/12 by david t.
If you're trying to decide whether, or not to rent this cottage for your vacation, stop debating and do it as you'll be in love with the house and the location. I was looking to book a last minute vacation, which is difficult for me to do as I have 3 German Shepherds that travel with me and not a lot of rentals allow pets of this size a quantity, but the owner was gracious enough to allow us to rent the cottage. This was one of the most beautiful settings I have even been to. The cottage sits back from a sandy beach that's perfect for swimming. The landscaping is well maintained and colorful. The cottage itself is up to date and very cozy, yet large enough for several couples. The rental comes with a house boat, which is perfect for motoring around Lake Placid. A canoe, row boat, and sailboat are also included, which are great for exploring the shorelines of the lake. The cottage was spotless and a well stocked kitchen makes it easy to make all of your meals in house and not have to go back to the mainland for anything. The master bedroom and bath are stunning. There is plenty to do indoors to relax, and plenty of things and places to go outdoors to keep you busy. The Cook Cottage is an amazing experience. I cannot wait to go back.
Date of Stay: July 2012
Posted On: 7/15/12 by Jeff H.
We had a great vacation. The location is absolutely perfect. The pontoon boat made it even better. The house is charming. We'd return in a heart beat. Thanks for a memorable family vacation.
Date of Stay: September 2009
Posted On: 12/22/11 by Rob A.
We had a great stay at this place in Lake Placid. It was a first for us in that the house is only accessible by boat, hence the need for the pontoon boat. The Adirondacks at this time of year are truly beautiful. We were there w/ one other couple but the house can accomodate several more people. It's about a 15 minute boat ride across the lake but the ride itself is relaxing. The house is an older one that has been updated through the years. The recently renovated kitchen and master bedroom/bath are very nice. All the amenities you could want are right there. It was a very relaxing stay and we enjoyed a boat ride around the lake each evening. Truthfully, if your just looking to unwind and relax, you may decide to just stay at the house. There's not a lot of reasons to go anywhere else. Just make sure you bring enough groceries. It's not like you can just jump in the car and run to the Jiffy Store for a loaf of bread! All in all, we had a great time and would definitely go back again.
Print Reviews

Close
*Reviews and owner responses are the subjective opinions of the reviewers and owners. They are not the opinions of Adirondack "By Owner", LLC and are not endorsed by us. We do not investigate the accuracy of property listings, reviews, or owner responses. Please see our Important Notice & Disclaimer for more details.